Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A bit of knit July 11, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:38 am

Koigu_chevron_scarf_not_enough_yarn_1 Well I started a Chevron Scarf using Koigu from my stash.  I couldn’t find two contrasting colors that I liked together so I decided to use one very bright color that I bought online.  As I was chatting with my mother this morning she remembered the pattern called for two skeins of each color.  Doh!  A yarn waster, really, probably why neither of us ever knit this before.  Thank goodness she has a ridiculously large stash of Koigu.  I can probably find something to coordinate.  Or perhaps back to the drawing board.  This was meant to be a donation for my friend’s organization Take Back the News.  They are having an art benefit and are looking for donations.  Perhaps a bracelet instead…

Speaking of bracelets…I am nearly finished with my second to last for Owen’s teachers.  I just Crappy_picture love this one in goregous browns.  Sometimes they are difficult to give away (and photograph).  Owen had a great first day at school.  The bus driver is very nice.  Owen is a bit reluctant to go to school but I can’t blame him–he had a pretty nice vacation last week–despite the incident at Splish Splash.  As always, thanks for your words of wisdom and kindness.

 

7 Responses to “A bit of knit”

  1. Carole Says:

    That bracelet is gorgeous. And you’re right – they are difficult to photograph.

  2. margene Says:

    You’ve been an quite a bracelet binge…they always look great. Good luck with the knitting.

  3. Donna Says:

    I’m glad Owen’s first day went well. The bracelet is lovely 🙂

  4. marti Says:

    the bracelet is beautiful. i hope that owen adjusts to school quickly. i have always found that it isn’t so much the concept of school that was hard, but the fact that they have to be still so darn long!

  5. Maryann Says:

    Hooray for a good first day of school!

  6. Margot Says:

    I made the koigu scarf in LMK. My advice is to rip it while it’s early and mostly painless to do so. It took FORever and then I learn that no amount of blocking can keep it from curling. I wore it once.

    Make another bracelet! Those are awesome and I ‘m so glad you posted about them. I love that site and am saving up for a few treats from there.

  7. Samantha Says:

    It looks great! 🙂

    Thanks for the offer on making the squares. 🙂


Comments are closed.