Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rate of acquisition July 17, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 12:12 pm

Rate of acquisition can be used to describe many things…yarn, pattern comprehension, verbal skills.  Owen has mastered 2 new phrases quite quickly–"Go away!" and "Move!".  My rate of acquisition on yarn has been quite low.  I feel as though I am doing a pretty good job knitting what I have.  I can’t say I am "knitting through the stash" as I am not knitting all that much and therefore–not using much stash!  But what I am knitting is stash.  Except for bracelets.  And I recently acquired quite a few spools of kreinik to knit more.  (30 spools via eBay)

Leaf_lace_shawl As far as pattern acquistion, I am 10 rows forward 2 rows back.  Row 39, especially is killing me.  I get all set on the repeat and forget to do the middle/end chart.  Sometimes I am able to drop down and fix it.  Other times it just comes off the needles for a little ripping.

Tomorrow presents an opportunity to acquire yarn at a greatly discounted price.  Granny and I are going to Knitting Fever to see the new yarns.  This is kind of exciting…better than the rep coming to us. 

 

8 Responses to “Rate of acquisition”

  1. Chris Says:

    Oh, KFI! Pick up some Baby Cashmerino for me. Oh wait, I have just about every color already!

  2. margene Says:

    The shawl is looking great! I confess to having much the same problem with the pattern. You’ll get the hang of it soon. Enjoy your trip to KF! Playing with yarn is good for the soul.

  3. Carole Says:

    Sounds like Owen knows what he wants. The shawl is coming along nicely. I tend to make the same mistakes over and over again, too.

  4. ann Says:

    have fun on your field trip! make sure you and Granny stick together so you don’t lose each other! 🙂

  5. Norma Says:

    Holy cow, don’t know how you could stay virtuous there. Have a GREAT time. But doesn’t it feel good to knit from the stash? I’m enjoying that top I’m doing to no end, largely because it’s from the stash. I will cry if it turns out I don’t have enough yarn for it, though.

  6. Angi Says:

    I hope you had a wonderful time!

  7. Samantha Says:

    My Owen has a new phrase too … “Leave me alone!” Have a great time at Knitting Fever. I hope you find some new yarns you like. 🙂

  8. Stephanie Says:

    Sounds like a fun trip! Good Luck with the scarf, my leaf lace damn near killed me.


Comments are closed.