Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Quickie August 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 5:41 pm

Thanks for all the input on Gloria.  I think I found some colors I like in Berroco’s Ultra Alpaca.  Saddle Brown, Salt and Pepper or Denim Mix.  I liked the idea of Cashmerino though–as I didn’t want the sweater to be too hot.  I might be making the change sooner than I thought…I am overheating all of the time.

Life has been busy with very little knitting.  Owen is home.  Yesterday he visited the aquarium with his respite group.  Today, Cameron and I accompanied them all to an indoor play place.  Field trips are awesome–as difficult as they may be.  You can see the staff revitalized and enjoying themselves in a whole other way.  Cameron and Owen interacted so beautifully.  And Owen only got yelled at once by some nasty lady.  Luckily, his teacher was right there and went right back at her.  There is something to be said for being in a "group of your own".  People with autism don’t look different so most people just think they are naughty or spoiled. 

Kevin is off for the rest of the week.  I am working at the shop tomorrow and then we are gearing up for our big Labor Day BBQ.  We are having 4 families over–3 have children with autism.  I can tell you it is never dull!  We hope to have a brand new patio installed on Thursday and our new outdoor furniture set delivered Saturday.  Now, we could very easily be sitting on old furniture in the dirt come Sunday…but that’s okay.  I bet the kids would enjoy it more.  Wait till I show you the furniture…omg…I love it.  We weren’t going to go with wood–as much as we love it.  But it was a floor sample and the price was terrific and the set beautiful.

 

9 Responses to “Quickie”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Can’t wait to see the furniture — how fun!!!

  2. Norma Says:

    Weehawwww! I need to find me some of those floor samples. I feel a bit deprived, some days. We haven’t been able to do ANYTHING to the house in so long. I miss it.

  3. Maryann Says:

    Horray for his teacher!! Good luck with your BBQ- can I come too? 😉

  4. michele Says:

    you sound good…happy labor day preparations and new patio and furniture 🙂

  5. Vicki Says:

    Have a great weekend, Katy, and a fabulous barbecue! Sounds lively! Can’t wait to see the new furniture, too. It wasn’t a wood furniture floor sample from the House of Purling Swine, was it? ; ) It was like a regular factory over there last week!

  6. Carole Says:

    I’ll bet your cookout will be a blast. Hope the weather cooperates!

  7. Samantha Says:

    It sounds like Owen had a great time out with his group, with the exception of that nasty lady. I can’t wait to see the new furniture. Have a wonderful weekend.

  8. Orli Says:

    Sounds like loads of fun. Can you protect the wood from the weather?

  9. Kim Says:

    Ohmygosh! A new patio, *and* new outdoor furniture?! How fun! Can’t wait to see it—I love my old wooden set, have had it for 8 years. It really needs some primer and paint, but I still love it.

    Have a wonderful weekend, and a blast at the BBQ!
    xoxo


Comments are closed.