Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Falling off the face of the earth September 6, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:37 am

…and coming back again.  I haven’t checked emails and blogs in ages.  My kids start back to school tomorrow and we are trying to enjoy these last rainy days of summer.  Our Labor Day BBQ was a success.  I had a bit too much to drink.  But I think a good time was had by all.  The patio was finished early enough on Friday–despite the doubts of others.  I was in complete End_of_august_025 agreement with her doubts.  Kevin told the guys this though and I believe they worked harder just to prove us wrong.  And him right.

End_of_august_024 The patio set arrived in the rain on Saturday but was as lovely as I remembered!  I’ve got to tell you, the umbrella is so cool–an oval!  Unfortunately, the wind and rains on Saturday meant quite a bit of clean up outside–as well as the usual house tidying but we got it all done in time.  The kids had a blast and the parents relaxed.  It was good.  And Sunday’s weather was too.  Kevin did a fabulous job cooking for our Mexican BBQ.  He’s a doll.

Knitting.  What’s that?  I have it in my head to knit one more square–preferably a log cabin square to tie all my squares together for Annette’s blanket.  The Summer of Stash is over but I am once again overwhelmed by the amount of yarn in my possession.  Kevin made me bring a lot of it up to our room on Saturday/Sunday.  Must knit more and continue to buy less!

 

22 Responses to “Falling off the face of the earth”

  1. Cara Says:

    The patio and furniture look great! Glad it was all done in time and the bbq was a success. Good luck with back to school.

  2. margene Says:

    It’s wonderful that everything fell into place for your BBQ. Love the patio furniture! Time to take a little time for yourself and maybe sit in your fabulous room and do a bit of knitting.

  3. Carole Says:

    Love the patio and the furniture! I hope the kids have a good first day of school.

  4. Stephanie Says:

    That patio set is awesome, just my style. Glad you could enjoy the long weekend, can you believe summer is practically over??

  5. ann Says:

    it all looks wonderful!

  6. Vicki Says:

    Love the patio! Love the furniture! Love the lights by the sliding doors!

    Good luck with the back to school stuff. August was gone in a blink, wasn’t it?

  7. Susan Says:

    My first thought was that it’s awful nice of your husband to make you put some yarn away before having (nonknitting) company, just so the true depth of your fiber hoarding isn’t known. Then I thought, maybe he’s embarrassed. I think I’m going to go with the first one because Kevin seems like such a nice guy from your blog.

    I love the patio and furniture, too. It looks like a nice place for a bbq and also for a relaxing knitting spot.

  8. Chris Says:

    It is a lovely patio and I love the set! Glad you had a great end of summer event.

  9. greta Says:

    oh, I LOVE that Neil Young song….humming it as i read your blog…
    and WOW! that is gorgeous patio furniture!
    One of these days I’m gonna surprize you with a visit and we’ll sit out there and forget how to knit together 😉

  10. Norma Says:

    I LOVE the patio and the furniture. It’s all come together so beautifully. I totally need a backyard makeover. The whole back side of my house needs to be ripped off, and this time rather than have a deck, I’d like a patio. I do NOT want to have to replace it in 15 years, which when you build it seems so far away, but when you get there, it’s TOO SOON to have to spend that amount of money again. Ugh. We also have a sunroom that has been the bane of our existence since it went up. Just a leaky mess that is an eyesore. (the company promptly went bankrupt the year after it went in. ugh.)

  11. toni Says:

    It’s looking good! Glad your BBQ went well.

  12. michele Says:

    Love the furniture and the patio too! Enjoy your last days of summer and your patio. I love the happy yellow color of your house too.

  13. Samantha Says:

    I love that patio furniture. Sometimes it is nice to be proven wrong about stuff like that, eh?

    Thanks for knitting the squares for me. I look forward to getting them. 🙂

  14. Kathy Says:

    I love that patio furniture — so pretty! Glad that the cookout was a success.

  15. Orli Says:

    Glad to hear you had a good time. Patio looks great.

  16. Orli Says:

    Glad to hear you had a good time. Patio looks great.

  17. Orli Says:

    Glad to hear you had a good time. Patio looks great.

  18. Kim Says:

    Love the furniture, the umbrella *and* the cobblestone patio!! Fabulous!!

    Now summer is gone, but think of the great times you’ll have this autumn knitting outdoors seated in one of those beautiful chairs!

  19. patio done in less than 2 days – as promised

    pay up 🙂

  20. Jean Says:

    Love the patio set, Katie. Can’t wait to have a real home again!

  21. Angi Says:

    That’s a great patio set! I love the oval umbrella. May you have many fabulous times out there!

  22. Orli Says:

    it just came to me your garden furniture and paving make me think of England.


Comments are closed.