Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Leaf Lace Shawl October 10, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:37 am

Leaf_lace_2006_1 Leaf Lace Shawl is finished.  I guess I started it over a year ago but was too tight when using the size 5 needle called for.  I changed to a US 7 and was much happier with the results.  It is knit in Grayce’s Pure and Fancy laceweight wool–a gift from Margene.   My photographer was a bit uncooperative and I was trying to minimize…um, the mess (and my butt).  I love this shawl.  It was a very easy knit and the pattern pretty easy to memorize at times.  It is soft and cozy and I love to throw it over my shoulders when I am sitting on the couch or my chaise. 

We survived yet another 3 day weekend.  Owen and I spent it with his friends and their moms.  Nothing was destroyed in the process.  I left Cameron at my sister’s house so he didn’t have to put up with the boy who clobbered him last week.  Poor Cameron continues to struggle at school.  We have a meeting on Thursday.  Kevin will attend also.  Keep your fingers crossed.  Please. 

Oh…I had 875 yards so I added a couple of extra repeats and I love the overall size.

 

21 Responses to “Leaf Lace Shawl”

  1. Vicki Says:

    It’s beautiful, Katy! Love the color and the size is terrific.

    I don’t see any mess. ; )

  2. Kris Says:

    It’s beautiful! I really love the color too.

    I’ll be thinking about you and kevin dealing with the school. You’re a pro at this but I know its stressful. You’ll do great!

  3. Cara Says:

    Beautiful! It looks lovely and warm. I bet my mess beats your mess any day of the week. And we only have TWO people living here.

    Good luck with all the school stuff.

  4. Carole Says:

    Leaf Lace was my first lace shawl and I really struggled with it. Yours is beautiful!

  5. Karen Says:

    Your shawl is stunning!
    I’ll think good thoughts for Cameron. Good luck with the meeting.

  6. Nancy Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous. I really love it.

    Good luck with Cam. It will all work out in the end. It’s just a struggle in the middle.

  7. Christy Says:

    Love the shawl! It looks awesome! Butt cropping is the bane of the knit blogger.

    Sending good thoughts for Cam’s school meeting.

  8. Rossana Says:

    It’s a beautiful Lace Leaf, Katy!

    Good to hear your long weekend was peaceful compared to the last gathering.

    I’ll keep my fingers and toes that all gets worked out with Cameron and school.

  9. margene Says:

    The shawl is so beautiful! You did a great job despite your *itchin’.;-)
    In a few short days I’ll be able to hug you in PERSON! My best to Cam as he stuggles with being a kid. It just isn’t fair what kids have to go through in school today (if it ever was).

  10. Stephanie Says:

    Leaf Lace was my first lace too, isn’t it so amazing to see that blob turn into something so pretty? Yours came out beautifully. Love the size.

  11. Chris Says:

    Beautiful! I love it. Butt, mess and all. Good thoughts winging your way for Thursday.

  12. oRLI Says:

    It’s gorgeous Katy! and I love the color. Good luck for Cam. May I ask what is he struggle with…I don’t know if I will have tips…but maybe if something helped my brothers…

  13. Donna Says:

    I love the shawl! Excellent job. My fingers are tangled from crossing them for you. I’ll be sending good thoughts.

  14. Uli Says:

    Beautiful shawl!!!!! What a nice job.

  15. Norma Says:

    Hey, who needs a sweater for Rhinebeck, when you have the beautiful new shawl???? Lovely.

  16. Laura Says:

    Fingers crossed!!!!!!!!

  17. greta Says:

    can’t cross my fingers…
    but will PRAY!
    Lovely, LOVELY job on the shawl…
    It looks SO snuggley!

  18. Stephanie Says:

    I really like the shawl, but it’s the mess I adore.

  19. Kathy Says:

    Beautiful shawl!

    Wishing you a good meeting and help. I have a son on the spectrum, too, and I know how hard it all is. Wishing you strength and some repreive.

  20. Lynne Says:

    Katy, the shawl is incredible…I so admire you lace knitters. Have fun at Rhinebeck!


Comments are closed.