Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Positive thoughts and bad kharma October 12, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 4:07 pm

Can those two thoughts really exist in one title or one thought?  Thank you all for the positive thoughts on Cameron’s meeting.  If it were enough to adore and wish Cameron well–he would be a straight A student.  However, he is struggling so much with the 3rd grade curriculum.  I know they say there is a big change in 3rd but things that were just a brief one week lesson in 2nd grade are now expected weekly.  Verb, noun, adjective identification was one short lesson last year.  Now he must identify them in his spelling list each week.  Vocabulary confounds me!  It is lesson based but should Cameron really know the various parts of a crayfish.  I don’t know the thorax from the abdomen.  Are his classmates really using "appendage" in sentences?  Regularly?  I know his teachers want what is best for him but the head of special education things he should go to a self-contained placement if this current class isn’t appropriate.  I will fight to get him into the inclusion class using my favorite "Least Restrictive Environment" argument–LRE!  I live by it.

You know though…I am tired of fighting.  I guess we all have our challenges in life, the battles we must face.  I would just prefer it to be my battles and not my children.  You know, leave them out of it.  What’s makes us stronger…blah blah blah.  Kevin described our relationship as a "train wreck" last week.  It’s funny that is the phrase that started our course.  I wonder if we were, perhaps, two ships that should have passed in the night rather than colliding head on.  But, if I am in this fight, I am so glad to be standing beside him.

Anyway, more testing for Cameron. WISC II, Vineland and a neuropsych.  To be continued, I suppose.                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

                                                                 Crayfi5

 

15 Responses to “Positive thoughts and bad kharma”

  1. Tish Says:

    I know some young kids actually do use appendage in sentences (not that we’d particularly want to hang around those kids- Eddie Haskel comes to mind. “my, Mrs Cleaver, but little Theodore has a particularly nasty scrape on his lower left appendage”), and I’m all for increasing kids’ vocabulary, but that diagram is in one of my freshman (college) bio texts. And I was a bio major so I took more than just the basics. I mean come on- antennule and third maxilliped in 3rd grade!! (BTW, I went to 3rd grade in Florida- we called them crawdads and didn’t care what their parts were called as long as they didn’t pinch us when we went wading in the creek). My middle son’s third grade teacher/witch delighted in pulling obscure spelling words from the social studies book and adding them to the test. So we started “grading” his tests for him. If he got all of the assigned words correct (he’s 17 and still a “unique” speller) he got an A from us and we didn’t worry too much about the add ons, which kept him from getting too discouraged. Several other parents in the class adopted our method, and no one was too broken up when teacher/witch finally retired. Has Cameron tried homemade flash cards. My 15yo daughter goes thru reams of index cards whenever she has to memorize facts or vocab. She swears that bright colored gel pens help too. (But that may be a girl thing) Hang in there Katy.

  2. Peeve Says:

    Hang in there!!

  3. Kathy Says:

    Oh, Katy. I am thinking of you. I know that you mean about wishing you could have your kids struggles.

  4. ann Says:

    All of these meeting must almost knock you from your walking legs and make your compound eyes cross! I know it’s giving me a rostrum ache! Keep your antennules aware and your cheliped at the ready – you can do it!

  5. Norma Says:

    What the?! That doesn’t look like any 3rd-grade work I know of.

    I’ve always loved vocab and grammar, but I know some well established authors who know neither!

    All I can say is I’m thinking of you and hugging you from afar.

  6. Vicki Says:

    More hugs from afar. ; ) Big ones.

  7. Carole Says:

    You sound so sad, Katy. I’m thinking about you and hugging you in a virtual way.

  8. Nancy Says:

    Man, Avery didn’t have that kind of thing in third grade although they did raise crayfish but they just did their own drawings with a few parts defined.

    I’m having issues with some of the worksheets Ian is bringing home also. It seems all too abstract for an almost 5 year old. I really think we’re expecting kids to learn too much too soon and forgetting all the foundations they need to have first.

  9. Katy Says:

    Ugh–that seems crazy for 3rd grade. I get so frustrated when I see that they want every kid to fit into the same box. Hang in there, this is just a bump in the road!

  10. Sara Says:

    That is most definitely rather over-the-top. Hannah’s in fourth grade – and they are just wrapping up a crayfish unit – I’m pretty sure her list of parts wasn’t that detailed. And she’s not identifying verb/noun/adjs every week with spelling as far as I know. AND she’s in a highly “competitive” school system that prides itself on being amongh the top whatever in the country – so it’s not a dumbed down curriculum at all. If there’s a way to check with other third grade classrooms in the school to see if this teacher is doing “more” than the curriculum suggests … I’d try that anyway.

    It totally gets tiring to keep being the advocate. You’re doing a good job though…keep putting one foot in front of the other.

  11. margene Says:

    Schools today boggle the mind. No wonder people home school their kids. It just isn’t right to try and put a square peg in a round whole all the time. You are a great advocate, having had more experience than most parents. Cam will make it through but it shouldn’t be this hard!

  12. Cara Says:

    I got your carapace right here baby!

    I’m sorry, Kathleen. I’m going to buy you a HUGE dog bowl full of french fries at Rhinebeck. Trust me. The container may not look very appetizing, but the fries will temporarily fix what ails you. L, C

  13. Stephanie Says:

    I don’t see what is gained from making it so hard on kids these days. It’s ridiculous. Hang in there. Thanks for fighting, some parents just don’t care and it makes it hard on everyone else.

  14. Orli Says:

    Uggg…sounds like they really upped the anti since I was in 3rd grade…sheesh…would you like me to ask my SIL who’s a teacher for tips on ways to help Cam learn these things…I remember her once telling me something about flashcards…

  15. Amy Lu Says:

    What ever happened to kids being kids? Seriously, is any 3rd grader’s brain wired for that? Have you ever researched the delayed education theory? I’m looking into it. Basically, you teach a subject to mastery when a child is developmentally ready to acquire the knowledge. (for instance, you hold off teaching abstract concepts until your child can understand abstract thought. duh.) It’s based a lot on Piaget from what I understand (I’m just getting into it). So much in grade school is repeated year after year because the children just aren’t ready to absorb it yet!

    It’s exhausting to have to fight for your child, take heart though, someday Cameron will thank you.


Comments are closed.