Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My mother is proud of me November 6, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 2:21 pm

Making_my_mother_proud Look what I did!  I am knitting Swell from the summer issue of Knitty.  I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am.  And my mom is too.  I am using Knitaly for the solid and Reynold’s Odyssey for the contrast.  It is meant to be for Owen’s I_can_do_it teacher although it seems a bit tight.  The inside looks pretty good too.

I got started–finally–on the Birds Nest Shawl.  It only took 4 hours to rewind the ball by hand.  NoteBirds_nest_shawl  the sarcasm.  I feel like it’s tight but it has a lot of give.  My mom looked at it today and said it was fine so I will forge ahead.

Parent teacher conferences for Cameron tonight.  Kevin is going.  I will stay home with Owen and the other two.  I did run into the reading teacher last week and she said he was coming along nicely.  And he got 102 on that crayfish test! 

 

15 Responses to “My mother is proud of me”

  1. jody Says:

    swell looks swell 😉 (i knew i’d have to comment early to get that one in!)

    good luck with the parent teacher thing tonight. it sounds like there’s good reason to be optimistic! *crossing fingers* for you all!

  2. Cara Says:

    looking good! Good luck tonight!

  3. Karola Says:

    Katy, i am so glad that i found you.. i have moved out to Arizona back in july and when i set up my computer.. i couldn’t find you.. fortunately i was just reading Bronx Nancy and she had you captured from the sheep festival.. i’m so sorry that i missed it.. it looked wonderful.. anyway looking forward to catching up on your blog yes i finally saved it in the right place.. and come take a view of mine too 🙂 it has grown as has my family.. 🙂 hugs karola formerly of NYC aka KnittingLadyBuginTheHeartofHarlem

  4. margene Says:

    You did it and your mom must be VERY proud of you. Sounds like you’ll have a busy night ahead.

  5. sprite Says:

    Good luck with the parent-teacher conference. I hope Kevin is able to report back that Cameron is on the right path.

    And congrats on the knitting. It looks great!

  6. greta Says:

    I’m proud of you, too!
    xoxox
    Prayers for the parent teacher conference…
    as always!

  7. Karen Says:

    Swell looks wonderful!! The shawl yarn is so pretty.
    YAY to Cameron on the crayfish test!! My fingers and toes are crossed for the parent teacher conference.

  8. Jan Says:

    Sounds like things are looking up on several fronts! Yay!

  9. ann Says:

    Swell is looking ….. well, swell! I didn’t realize it had hidden peace signs in the earflaps. tres cool!

    fingers crossed for tonight’s meeting!

  10. Orli Says:

    Swell, is well swell =)
    OMG – 4 hours…what a pain, but it looks so pretty.
    Way to go Cam! That’s like 2 points over the the highest mark.

  11. Nancy Says:

    Avery wants me to make him Swell (he ran into the pattern when I had it on the coffee table). He’s picked out the yarn and everything! Yours is coming along very nicely.
    Your mom should be proud;)

    Good luck with the Parent Teacher conference. I have both of mine next week. I may send Rinaldo by himself to Ian’s. I think he’s doing really well and I don’t know how well I’ll take it if they burst my bubble…

  12. Kim Says:

    FOUR HOURS? Kathleen, I admire your persistence and patience!!

  13. Linda Says:

    You are a knitting goddess 🙂 Hope the conference goes well!!! Just to make you laugh today – We were running late and I did not notice until he was far away from the car heading into school that Patrick’s shirt was on inside out!!! I have decided boys are much harder to raise than girls LOL

  14. Rossana Says:

    Yay, Cameron! Good job on the crayfish test! Keep up the good work on your reading!

    And that’s wonderful that you and your mom are tackling Swell. I look forward to seeing the progress.

  15. Maribel Says:

    You can do anything…you are great!


Comments are closed.