Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

To blog or not to blog November 14, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 5:53 pm

Life, as usual, is chaotic.  But knitting has actually been plentiful.  Gracie’s vest is finished and she hates it.  I am working on the Shetland Triangle Shawl from Wrap Style and enjoying it’s simplicity.  My new needle from Knit Picks arrived and I love it.  The Options Set is on my Christmas list.  I might even ask for another magnetic chart keeper.  I love that too. 

Victorian Lace Today arrived with the needle and I like that a lot too.  I see several projects I Victorian_lace would like to make.  I have been on the fence about Arctic Lace.  On the one hand, I lived in Alaska–so the book interests me.  On the other hand, the patterns don’t look as exciting as I hoped.  My mothers library never ceases to amaze!  She showed me some of her very old books–including Lady’s Knitting, Netting & Crochet Book by Jane Gaugain from 1848.  It’s beautiful.

Thanks so much for all of the well wishes for Cameron’s conference.  Needless to say, it didn’t go well.  The district is still pushing to move him to a self-contained placement.  They refuse to let me even tour the inclusion class.  I have, of course, spent the day on the phone with a lawyer and various education bureaucrats from Albany to D.C.  Thursday I will be touring an accredited private school. 

Tonight is Gracie’s school play.  She has just a small role as an extra but seems happy enough.  I somehow agreed–Kevin too–to host the cast party Friday night.  A cast of 70 middle schoolers.  What were we thinking?

 

10 Responses to “To blog or not to blog”

  1. Cara Says:

    Wow! You guys are brave! I hope you get it all worked out for Cameron quickly and smoothly. You are an amazing advocate for your children – I so admire your strength.

  2. Nancy J Says:

    Having gone to public schools and colleges and a private college (Middlebury) and having taught at public and private schools, IMHO, if at all possible, go for the private school. I know we’re all paying outrageously high school taxes, but the education is not all that terrific (except in how to be naughty.)

  3. margene Says:

    The VL book is breathtaking and I’m on the fence about Arctic knitting, too. As Cara said, and we’ve said before, you are an amazing advocate for all your children. Good luck and may it all work out well for you and them without too much headache. Thinking of you!

  4. Carole Says:

    I’m with you and Margene on both Victorian Lace and Arctic knitting. I think I’ll buy Arctic for the library and then I’ll get a sneek peak. Sometimes I really love my job.

  5. Chris Says:

    I know it’s wearing, but don’t give up the battle until you are happy with the results. You only get one chance to do it right, and I know you know what’s best for Cam.

  6. Kris Says:

    Sorry things didn’t go well with the school and that they are being rather buttheadish about allowing you see see placements, etc. Sounds like they already made decisions regarding Cam before they ever got your input. So much for the parent being a valuable part of an IEP team. I understand why you sought the advice of a lawyer.

    Sorry you’re having to deal with this. I had hoped that the school would’ve conducted themselves much more appropriately. Stay above the fray and do what you know is best. Their biggest mistake is the fact that they underestimated you. You’re a powerful woman and an amazing advocate… and you’ve had a lot of practice. Don’t give up.

    P.S. You invited how many junior high students to your house????? I’ll pray for you… you might need it!

  7. Orli Says:

    I guess i’m not cut out for life in the USA…to much to deal with…

  8. Kate Says:

    Stay strong! You are the best advocate that Cam has… and I am glad to see you are looking at a private school. Remember the phrase ‘best interest of the child’… if his IEP needs are NOT being MET at the school and the ed plan you have put together with his team talks about inclusion, they MUST make it available, even if they have to pay for private tuition. Don’t let them bully you!

    70 “tweens” at your house? you and Kevin are uber-brave. 🙂 also, tell the “star” that she gets an automatic standing ovation from me in Massachusetts_– good for her being in the school play!
    🙂 Kate

  9. patty bolgiano Says:

    About the party, make it easy on yourself. Either order pizza or have those small individual pizza the party goers can make themselves and have them make up their own pizza and you pop it into the oven. Soda, veggies and cookies for dessert, then they desert your house!! Haaaa-Haaaaa (insert stress out laughter here)

    Patty

  10. Nancy Says:

    I’m a little confused because as long as I’ve know you I never realized you smoke crack;)

    Seriously 70!?! May the force be with you.

    Poor you and poor Cam, do what you have to do for him. You know I’ve been through it on occasion myself and I was inspired by you. I understand how exhausting it can be having to advocate for your child when it seems like all the forces are out there working against you but stay strong. When you need a break you know where to find me, right at the end of the “spiral”…lol.


Comments are closed.