Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Getting a grip December 19, 2006

Filed under: Teacher Gifts — katy @ 9:47 am

I had a better title in my head but it slipped out.Xmas_knits06   Maybe it was the horrible photo I am sharing of my attempted Christmas knits.  I think I have 14 things I planned to knit.  8 are finished.  That’s not too bad.  2 are on the needles and could be finished today.  That leaves 4.  Doable?  I don’t know.  From the top and clockwise…Mulitdirectional scarf in SWS for Owen’s home teacher.  Ribbed Keyole Scarf in Artful Yarns Legend for Cam’s teacher.  A Silk Garden beanie for who knows–probably one of Owen’s teachers.  White Blizzard hat followed by a brown Blizzard hat on the needles.  Black Fetching mitts, next to Knitaly scarf for Cam’s principal.  Another pair of Fetching next to a Manos flap cap from Last Minute Knitted Gifts–it’s huge!!  Yet another Fetching and some beads on wire.  I am contemplating the votive sleeves for my MIL. 

To be quite honest, I hadn’t really thought about the number of knits till this morning.  I just wanted to knit a scarf for the principal and Owen’s teaching assistant who requested a flap hat.  But I have been knitting for so long for the teachers–I think they would be disappointed.  I am not even the people pleaser type.  I haven’t been thinking enough about the kids Christmas gifts either.  It might be the weather but I am just not feeling it.  I am more disorganized than I usually am.  Thank goodness Cameron and Gracie appreciate anything.  And Owen…well, I don’t even know what he thinks of Christmas. 

Must blog less–if that is even possible!!  And knit more!  MORE! 

 

10 Responses to “Getting a grip”

  1. margene Says:

    But we like having you come around and let us know what’s up. Just do what you can and buy nice treats for the rest of the people. Everyone will appreciate whatever you do. It’s a winter wonderland here…very Christmasy.

  2. Nancy Says:

    I think it is the weather. I am so not feeling it either. Although at this point in my knitting life this last minute gift knitting frenzy should put me in the holiday mood!

    I have faith in you, you can get it done!

  3. Christy Says:

    I’m totally jumping on that trampoline when I come over.

    Hang in there, girl.

  4. patty bolgiano Says:

    I’m not feeling very xmasy either. I have avoided the malls for several years now, the weather is warm and there is no chance for cold or snow and my family is in various parts of the country. I don’t know if it is the weather or the endless commericals for diamonds or lexus, or whatever hot car at the moment is, I’m just not in the xmas mood. I feel like all I am is a dollar sign for vendors.

    Patty

  5. Lynne Says:

    Funny, isn’t it…Christmas happens whether we knit or not, go to the mall or not, get stressed and overloaded, or not.
    Merry Christmas, Katy!

  6. Orli Says:

    This year I decided to take THAT stress factor out of my life. I have enough on my plate write now and I can’t be worried about knitting so many things.
    Besides ever since this cold started 4 wks I have much felt like knitting…I decided however it was high time I made something for Gil, so I started that. I don’t want to spend any money on yarn till I use all my stash…it’s a humble stash in comparison to others, but it still is a stush and I don’t see the point of hoarding the yarn without using it. I also am aiming to slow down as thier are other things I want to do…like read. I guess the only reason i’m feeling it is because i’m such a tv junkie and even though thier is nothing to watch i’m still watching …and staying up too late…well the adverts on the forigh chanels are xmassy and J Leno is all decorated…and my brother from England went to the company xmas ball and got a box of chocholate for the holidays.

  7. Christine Says:

    Hey I have one of those trampoline’s… in the garage… my impulse buy last year. My daughter drags it in now and then. Do you use it often? I am nearly 5’11 and am afraid I will hit my head on the ceiling!

  8. Lroetta Says:

    Hi Katy!

    I was thinking of you and your family. I have not been in to visit Granny’s since I managed to change jobs not once but yep 3 times this year. I am no longer near West Islip – but maybe when things calm down I will drop in on a Saturday. Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year.

  9. Rossana Says:

    Erm…yeah, so I’m living proof that it is possible to blog less and knit even less than that. Heh. No excuse except I’ve been really enjoying my time in Hong Kong. =)

    Good luck with all your WIPs!

    And if you’d like, you’re TAGGED!

  10. DivaKnitter Says:

    Hi, this has basically nothing to do with your post, but I thought I’d comment anyway. I just recently had an IEP meeting for my son and he was verified as being Autistic. I remember from a previous post that you also have a son with Autism. I just thought I’d connect with a fellow knitter going through some similar life experiences.

    ~Elyse


Comments are closed.