Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Starting the year off right January 2, 2007

Filed under: Friends,In Progress — katy @ 9:46 am

Except I can’t find the camera. 

Christmas was wonderful and relaxing.  The kids got along beautifully.  Owen was a delight at home. Christy and Jody visited with my mom and I.  Last night, although we had takeout, we ate together as a family.  My first project of the new year started as a gift for the home teachers daughter but the colors aren’t really kid-friendly so it is a Dulaan hat.  Charity knitting.  That’s a good way to start, don’t you think?

A lot of bloggers have posted all they knit last year and what they hope to knit this year.  I am not that organized but would like to be this year.  A friend had sent a lovely journal and I plan to use it to keep track of my knitting.  I would also like to finish or, at least, work on some projects that have been in the pile for quite some time.

1.  Dale Salt Lake City 2000 for Kevin.  Considering this is now 2007–this project has been marinating for a loooong time.

2.  St. Brigid for me.  When did I start that KAL?

3.  A baby blanket for my SIL using 501.  I think the baby is due in 2 weeks.

4.  The sleeve on my leftover worsted Dulaan sweater.

5. 4 pulsewarmers–mates to 4 I have already knit.

6.  Shetland Triangle Shawl which is moving along nicely.

7.  The Birds Nest Shawl from Folk Shawls.

8.  While I haven’t wound the yarn…I have it in my head to knit a Colinette throw for my sister.  Again, stash yarn.  The Velvet Throw is #14.

9.  Brea pocketbook that I started for the shop a million years ago.

10.  Decide if I really want to knit this sweater in the color I have in the stash…  Gosh, I can’t even find a picture in my archives.  Such a bad blogger!

Well, I guess I will quit at 10.  Otherwise, I might start to feel guilty.  Kevin is in FL on business for the week.  Wednesday he finds out if he won another trip–Bahamas this time and he’s not too confident.  And I am taking Granny out to lunch for Christmas. 

                                                                  Happy New Year!

 

9 Responses to “Starting the year off right”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Happy New Year! The picture of your kids in your last post is precious. Health and happiness in 2007.

  2. Vicki Says:

    Happy New Year, Katy! I’m glad you had such a nice holiday; loved the photo of the kids (wow, they’ve grown so much)!

    I thought I was doing fine, and all of a sudden I’m a mess — I’m going to have to go back and read some pre-holiday posts to see what-all I’ve promised and where I might have been headed. I’m feeling very disorganized!!

  3. Nancy Says:

    Glad you had a good holiday. I have to be honest with you I’m not crazy about that last sweater. Maybe it’s just the asymetry of it in the picture. I like my sweaters to be symetrical!

  4. Carole Says:

    That’s an impressive list of knits you’re striving to do. I’d join you on St. Brigid if only it were a cardigan.

  5. Karen Says:

    Happy New Year! I love the photo of your kids in the previous post.

  6. margene Says:

    That is an impressive list and to make you feel better the SLC Olympics were in 2002;-)

  7. SYLVIE Says:

    Bonne année 2007 à toi et à toute ta famille, tu es un de mes Blogs préférés.
    Look at your blog every week end
    Thank you

  8. Lynne Says:

    Awesome sweater, Kathy..do it!!!!!
    Happy New Year!

  9. Orli Says:

    Happy New Year! sounds like you have a full plate of knitting.
    I can’t even think that far ahead, just taking it one at a time…working on a cardi for Gil at this rate I hope he can use it next year.


Comments are closed.