Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How long can I milk Dulaan posts for? February 12, 2007

Filed under: All done!,Charity Knits,Family,Stash — katy @ 1:05 pm

Off_to_dulaan Seriously, there is some new content.  I am ready to mail off my Dulaan knits and I am also attempting to organize and declutter the house.  If only I could feel this motivated everyday.  I sorted through 3 of my dresser drawers and hoovered Piecework_dulaan_hat_from_my_mom dust bunnies from under the bed.  Can you see the hat my mom added to the Dulaan pile?  Isn’t it gorgeous?  My super duper chunky one looks like crap next to hers–but this isn’t a competition!

A pair of pulse warmers are finished and ready to mailed.  Yippee!  PictuSonny_and_shearre forthcoming.  And my order arrived from Sonny and Shear in no time!  Thanks Kris.  It was packaged wonderfully–so much so that I didn’t take it out.  Now to find a project for my new lace weight.  Surprising even to me–pink seems to be a new preferred color.

In other news, Cameron got braces.  He looks adorable.  He chose gray for the color.  Love it–so original.  His meeting is on Wed.  I am not looking forward to arguing with the district.  I guess his diagnosis comes down to ADHD without the H and CAPD.  I read online somewhere about alphabet soup–that is about what it feels like.  The speech therapist who diagnosed the CAPD says start Fast ForWord right away.  We hope the district will pay for it.  It’s $2K.  Owen’s friend is receiving it in her district–two town’s over.  Why oh why did we move here?

Well, must get back to my productivity! 

 

11 Responses to “How long can I milk Dulaan posts for?”

  1. margene Says:

    Once January is over it seems easier to find a way to more productivity. Your Mom’s hat if fabulous! Your hat will be well loved and keep someone very warm, too. Good luck with Cameron and enjoy that spurt of energy;-)

  2. Vicki Says:

    Yay for productivity! Can you package some of that and ship it over here when you take the Dulaan stuff? ; )

  3. Nancy Says:

    I was on that organizing kick this weekend too. Must be a smell of Spring in the air. I’m hoping to ride it for as long as I can;)

  4. Norma Says:

    Your Dulaan stuff, and your mom’s, all put mine to shame, but I keep on knitting anyway. Warmth is the goal, not fashion. 🙂

    Doesn’t it feel great to pack and ship? I pretend it means I’m “cleaning.” Ha.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Wow – that is one amazing hat. Go Mom! And anytime you do something so good like the Dulaan Project, you can go on and on and on like the Energizer Bunny. Maybe you’ll infect the rest of us. Good work!

  6. Collette Says:

    Hang in there–it’s such a struggle with school districts all the time (seeing it from the other side doesn’t make it look any better–but I was sometimes pleasantly reminded that there are some administrators that do want to help–anyway, babbling). There is definitely some truth to the squeaky wheel theory. I know it’s hard. Let Kevin be the squeaky, squacky wheel for a while. I’m sending you hugs. I hope you can feel them.

  7. Annon Says:

    Hello. I ran a Fast ForWord class for grades 1-6 last year. I’ve moved to School District Headquarters since but still keep up Fast ForWord news. It’s a Google continuous net search for any articles that mention specific key words. I don’t know where in the world you are, but my experience with any special-ed students is that you have a right to receive special-ed services regardless of the cost to the school district. They must accommodate your child first, and then figure out how to pay for it.
    I’ve seen vigilant parents who get exactly what they want and I also have seen malleable parents get bamboozled by fast talking principles and counselors. My advice to you is to do your homework on the special-ed laws of your state. Insist on fair treatment.
    Fast ForWord is an interesting program with a good resume. I’ve seen mixed results depending on the individual child. There is no one size fits all magic potion.

  8. Mary Beth Says:

    To Katy’s Mom…show-off! Kidding! They are all lovely and warm and I am in awe of you all knitting like that for charity.

    Good luck with the meeting!

  9. Kris Says:

    Thanks, Kathleen!!!

    Hey, I’m interested to hear how things go with FastForword. I’m hearing little bits here and there about AG and CAPD. She is too young right now for FastForword but I’ve been reading about it anyway.

    I’d love to hear what Cam thinks about FFW and how you view it as far as fitting it into your schedule, noticing differences, etc.

    Hope you can get started soon with the FFW. I know you’re anxious to get him the help he needs.

    P.S. I’ll bet Cam is a handsome devil with those stylin’ new braces!!!!!

  10. Kathy Says:

    Good luck today with the meeting — I hope that the district is responsive and I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. The knitting looks wonderful!

  11. Orli Says:

    well, I don’t know what CAPD is but the ADD…sounds like what my youngest brother has…or possibly me…


Comments are closed.