Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 23, 2007

Filed under: Family,In Progress,Lace,Starmore — katy @ 10:22 am

Two posts in one week.  What’s that about?

Well, I finished and blocked the Shetland Triangle shawl.  Why do I always want to type "trainangle"?  Could it be my train obsessed son?  Blocking didn’t go as smoothly as I hoped.  I was trying a technique new to me that I vaguely recalled reading on the Yarn Harlot’s blog with threading a line through the straight bits rather than using all of those pins.  Needless to say (wrote "needles" first–my dyslexia is raging on the keyboard), I had to spray and reblock the top.  Without the book and the first page of the photocopy, I kind of guessed on the blocking.  It’s a shawl afterall…perhaps my points aren’t pointy enough but I like it anyway.  Now, I just need someone to take a picture.

In a desperate attempt to knit on something else, I tore my room apart looking for the pattern for Gloria.  It must be at the shop.  I considered Lara but that is at the shop too.  I didn’t really want to start the Hex Coat without my friend Ann.  What to do?  St. Brigid.  Yup.  And I am using the cabling without a needle technique finally!  Thanks to Wendy’s video I can finally understand how to do it and I am very happy.  I cranked through another repeat and have 3 more to go on the front.  Then I think I will start a sleeve.  Shocking.

Have a wonderful weekend.  Cameron, Gracie and I are going to see Bridge to Terabithia.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to see it as it was one of my favorite books as a kid.  Heck, we even read it to Gracie in utero…but the reviews are good and the kids are delighted.

Oh yea…I have completed 5 of the 10 goals I listed for myself in January!

