Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Throwing yarn, not up March 29, 2007

Filed under: Autism,Cross Stitch,Family — katy @ 7:40 pm

Ugh.  4 days of barfy ickiness.  Horrible.  It started on Saturday after work and I was down for the count.  I didn’t even pick up any knitting till yesterday.  Therefore, not much to show.  Kevin is away golfing with his buddies.  Owen had a sicky day yesterday  I might have sent him–as it was questionable and he was throwing his clothes at me demanding "bus".  But Kevin had kindly written in the communication notebook that Owen seemed to have a low grade fever.  All is well though…we had a lovely day with a bit of quality fun time at the beach.  What a gorgeous day. 

Tuesday was Owen’s annual meeting–which we sweated over for weeks.  Easy peasy.  No questions asked and everything is staying the same. The only change is an evaluation for a Dynavox.  Both scary and exciting.

Bof_springtime_3 With no knitting progress to show, I will share the finally finished Birds of  a Feather Printemps cross stitch.  Honesty compels me to mention I did not do this piece.  While searching for fabric on eBay, I found the darn thing already complete for less than the cost of the linen I planned to use.  I figured what the heck and birthday money was well spent.  I did help pick out the frame.  I really like it but don’t love it as well as I expected.  So, I am glad I didn’t put all of the time into it.  I did, however, order their Garden Cat and the linen.  No excuses now–except I have to get the floss together.  Do you think any less of me?

One last note, thank you for the kind words regarding my last post.  I had every intention of thanking each and every one of you via email but the pukies got in the way.  I hope to though…eventually.  If only we were all as good as that Carole!

 

11 Responses to “Throwing yarn, not up”

  1. Carole Says:

    I’m sorry you were sick, that’s icky. Glad Owen’s appointment went so well.

  2. lillium Says:

    Oh my – I just went to the link and watched the video on the Dynavox. I even called Hubby over to watch it with me. Wow! So sorry to hear you were so sick. Glad you are doing better.

  3. Emma. Says:

    Feel better soon ! It seems to be that time of year.
    Just a quick comment before I crawl to bed, it being 2 a.m. here [I really will e-mail you !] .
    Dynavox : Oliver has the MT4. Owen will prob. need the simpler version to start with. It will revolutionize your lives ! We, very luckily, were able to access the very last of the governments ”communicate” funding, now withdrawn, in the U.K. How will Owen’s be funded ?
    I have often thought that Owen really could benefit from one, as you have said that he is able to use symbol cards. I really, really hope the assessment goes well. Communication is a basic human right. It would be incredible if Owen could access the world in this way.

  4. Cara Says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! Yay for a good appointment and I hope the Dynavox works out for all of you!

  5. Nancy Says:

    The Dynavox looks interesting. I’m curious to see how it goes for him.

    Thanks for checking on me the other day, I always appreciate attention;)

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better.

    I’m glad you bought the completed version of the cross stitch piece. It would be horrible if you spent all that time and energy on it and didn’t love it. In fact you’d probably hate it. I definitely don’t think any less of you for buying it instead, you know I would have:D

  6. Lynne Says:

    Feel better soon, Katy. Hugs to you, and your honesty in sharing about love and life with a child with a disability.

  7. Carol Says:

    I hope he gets the Dynavox. I watched the video and pray it comes your way!!

  8. Rosane Says:

    Hi Kathleeny,

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

    Rosane.

  9. Angi Says:

    Dynavox looks awesome! I understand the “exciting” part but am not sure why scary?

  10. Orli Says:

    sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well, hope you feel better soon.
    I never realized you leaved near the beach. that’s fantastic. is it a lake or a seaside?
    i’m 30 – 40 min away from the Meditareninan. too cold this weekend.
    I wanted the info about Dynavox. looks most exciting, it made me think though. I hope you don’t mind me asking. Could Autism be linked with other LD’s such as Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, etc., does this mean that Autism is a diffeculty in expressing your self verbally, whilst Dyslexia is a diffeculty in reading…thierfore the Dynavox should help Owen communicate.

  11. Lynne Says:

    Great Ebay catch, Katy! GOod for you!


Comments are closed.