Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

…been kind of quiet April 18, 2007

Filed under: All done!,Charity Knits,Socks — katy @ 6:54 pm

Trekking126_picot_4 I started a diet and it was going very well.  I don’t know if it was just water weight but I plateaued and gave up.  Needless to say, I am frustrated with myself.  My high school reunion is next year.  I really don’t want to be overweight.  I was missing Twizzlers something fierce–so I started some candy inspired socks.  Yum.  Look at that picot edge baby.  My first.  Not too bad.  Wow, that is a  really big picture.

But you can see the detail, can’tcha?

I also finished a shawl for Owen’s school dinner dance.  I don’t really want to discuss the less than warm reception when I dropped it off.  We know it was pretty much dummy knitting–garter stitch on big ‘ole needles.  But Fiesta Yarns usually do all the work for you.  They decided to beef up the chinese auction basket with the GC Granny donated.  I tried to explain an evening shawl and a GC to a yarn shop–even if it is a SHOPPE–don’t go to together but they had their own thoughts.  Can you believe I considered offering a hand knit aran?  DUH!!  What would go with that?  A pile of poo?

Here’s Gracie modelling it sans head.

Yap07_shawl Now, I am off to her swim meeting.  Have a good night.

 

15 Responses to “…been kind of quiet”

  1. Carole Says:

    Love the socks — but you already knew that!

  2. sarah b. Says:

    Wow, that’s unfortunate about the auction…I think that shawl is really pretty and that’s not just the knitter in me talking!

  3. eusebius Says:

    Great socks. Don’t worry about the plateau … Could be water, could be fat transforming into muscle … measure yourself, I bet you’ve lost inches!!

    Maybe I’m totally out of it but … what’s a GC??

  4. Norma Says:

    I know what you mean about the reunion. But I guarantee you, you will be in a sea of people who feel the exact same way. It just is.

    I love those candy socks. I loved Carole’s, and I loved Claudia’s before that. I think perhaps I have to try to find some of that yarn. 🙂

  5. Kris Says:

    Love those socks. Almost bought that colorway a few months back. Thought it would give me cravings so I slowly backed away from it.

    I think that shawl is adorable. I also think you do ten times more for that school and those teachers than 99% of American mothers. You really do go the extra mile. Don’t take any trash off of them! (I mean it! Seriously!)

    OK… I own a yarn shop and it took me 10 minutes to figure out GC. I. Am. So. Dim.

    Doh!

  6. Donna Says:

    I just got some of that colourway last week 🙂 Trekking 126?
    I’ve been going to WW. I lost the first 30lb by myself over 18 months, but I couldn’t budge anymore. WW is working for me, my scale is showing numbers I haven’t seen in years. I don’t want to be on the beach in Hawaii all covered up!

  7. jody Says:

    the socks are great. i love that trekking.

    as for the shawl…you made something nice–don’t let their poor taste and poor behavior bug you. they’re the ones who should feel bad.

  8. margene Says:

    I hear they’re making that colorway again. I’ve got to find it!!
    I’ve missed you dear one. Keep your knitting to yourself or those you know who love it. It’s too precious.
    I’ve had trouble staying on a ‘diet’, too. I like my lattes too much.

  9. Doris Says:

    I’ve made things for silent auctions that were received with a lukewarm reception. I actually had someone ask if I wouldn’t mind making a hat and scarf over in a different color. Like it had taken me just a few minutes to whip it up. That was the last hand made item that group got. Now I make things only for the people that I know appreciate the effort that it takes. What is that yarn for your socks? I love it!

  10. Doris Says:

    I forgot to mention that your shawl is beautiful.

  11. chrisknits Says:

    You are so right. I need to remember that my angst affects me whether or not it is the scale of other’s sufferings. Hope your angst is light!

  12. Rosane Says:

    Love the socks!!! 🙂

  13. Orli Says:

    oh dear, diets suck so bad. I didn’t even loose water weight…not sure what I’ll do next. if you just want to loose weight for the reunion maybe try the ATKINS or Low CARB diet…
    the Low Carb is sainer. You are allowed to have carbs in one meal only.

  14. Lorette Says:

    Mmmm. Neopolitan ice cream socks! Very yummy.

    The shawl by itself would do just fine for me, thanks. Some people have no taste.

  15. Angi Says:

    I think the shawl is lovely. The school person who was less than lovely needs a proctologist to look for his or her head!


Comments are closed.