Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

6 days later May 29, 2007

Filed under: Family,In Progress,Socks,Work — katy @ 8:50 am

Well, I didn’t expect that to take so long.  I think I was frustrated as I wrote a heartfelt yet balanced post without too much emotion.  Why don’t I save to draft more often?  I also realized this morning, as I lay in bed, I still haven’t posted a picture of the Shetland Triangle.  Bad blogger extraordinaire.

May_07_life_and_knits_022 I will start with the knitting, of which there has been very little.  I ripped my sock to just before the picot and reknit on 0’s.  Much better.  I also tried an Eye of Partridge heel which got lost in the striping but I think it is there.  I ripped back the sleeves on my Kersti cardigan and making them a tad longer for my monkey arms.  I finished a tank top in Berroco Zen at the shop and continue to work on a Karabella Gossamer stole.  Nearly every sentence in this paragraph starts with "I".  While I know it is my blog–even Cameron knows better. I am not rewriting it but I am going to save this draft right now.

In other realms, time has been pressed with the kids.  We had Cameron’s meeting and it went worse than we expected but perhaps there was some good in that too.  Once again, the school is recommending a self-contained placement in the fall.  They have planned a high functioning 12:1:1.  For those not familiar, 12 students, one special education teacher and one aide.  The disabilities are comprised of speech disorders, learning disabilities and autism.  3 of the kids have autism.  That is 1/4 of the class.  Cameron needs positive role models and this classroom will not offer that for him.  I brought up to the district that this was not the least restrictive environment and asked about the integrated.  I was told it was filled.  This is not a legal answer and I pointed out to them they had to offer him something less restrictive.  I think they tried to threaten me with an out of district placement but I said we would love to look into it.  We are waiting to hear back from them but I suppose they will try to stall us for as long as possible.  I am asking to visit these placements before the school year ends.

Now for the good results from this meeting.  I have gotten Cameron a private, independent evaluation.  The results are proving to be better than that which the school showed.  I attended a parent advocacy workshop and found I was not alone.  4 of the 12 parents in attendence were from my district.  The trainer wants to take on our case with the district.  I bought and borrowed a ton of books on advocacy and am changing how I handle our paperwork and interactions with the district.  Today I am touring a local Catholic School.  And, lastly, I am reading all I can on homeschooling. 

Owen’s coasting.  He has a new teaching assistant in his class.  Owen adores older men–"grandfather" is one of his favorite words.  And Gracie is awesome.  It looks like London is a no go.  And I have been gardening–not something I especially enjoy.   

 

12 Responses to “6 days later”

  1. Norma Says:

    (((hugs))) Katy. What a tough row you have to hoe.

  2. margene Says:

    At least you know you’re not alone when it comes to dealing with the district. You are so good at advocacy, so they had better watch out;-)
    It’s so good to hear from you with or without knitting.

  3. Cara Says:

    You sound good – tired and reserved, but good! Your kids are the luckiest kids in the world to have you. You know that right?

  4. Nancy Says:

    If that’s your idea of not much knitting you must think I am such a slacker.

    Sorry about the meeting but I it’s good to know you’re not alone. It’s so difficult when everything your child needs has to be a battle. It’s so exhausting. You’ll do right by Cam, I believe in you:D

  5. Donna Says:

    You’re often in my thoughts. I wish I were half as strong as you are.

  6. Sara Says:

    ugh – that committee/team is wrong on SO many levels. I’m happy to lend an ear if you ever need one – though it sounds like you have a solid plan of action and you’ll get there. Go get ’em…

    but just ugh.

  7. Theresa Says:

    And that would be the reason they have the laws in place . . . keep on them to get what you and your kids need.

  8. kris Says:

    You deserve a hug, maybe a little drink-y-poo, and one heck of an “Atta Girl”!

    Don’t. Take. Any. School. District. Crap. (Politely, of course)

  9. Laura Says:

    ::hugs::

    So sorry to hear about your struggles with your school district. We are lucky to be in one that has been easy to get along with and has offered appropriate services for Sam. Not a day goes by that I am not grateful for that. Hang in there … and know that another autism mom has your family in her prayers. 🙂

  10. lillium Says:

    If you have any homeschool questions I’ll do my best to help answer or help you find answers. This is my ninth year – next year might be the last – Jbird is talking about wanting to do some of his college classes long distance – hmmmm…..

  11. Maryann Says:

    They refuse to integrate him? Is that like putting him in regular classes or activities for part of the day? That’s ridiculous they won’t do that. Here they’re practically trying to shove our kids out the door into mainstreaming. (Btw, this is Maryann with the autistic daughter that has fallen off the earth. Me, not the daughter.) We’re doing great. Kiddo’s going to year round next year and I’m thrilled! Good luck with your school district. You’re quite brave to consider homeschooling. I don’t think I could handle it.

  12. Orli Says:

    Well, I wish you good luck w/ Cameron, can’t be easy, it’s good that you can consider home schooling.

    interesting this is the 2nd I have come accross the word coasting, not referring to a sea side…the last time was in my last fertility cycle, I had 7 ripe follicles and lot’s of little ones, the doctor said she would use a coasting approach, where you don’t take any hormones for one day in order to avoid over stimulating the overy.
    it worked. not only did we not over stimulate it, I don’t even have a multiple pregnancy.


Comments are closed.