Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

St. Brigid June 12, 2007

Filed under: Autism,Family,Starmore — katy @ 9:31 am

St_brigid_is_moving I can’t get over how quickly St. Brigid is moving these days.  I am nearly finished with the 7th repeat with just one more to go for the back.  I estimated–given the amount it has taken me to get this far (wrote fart)–that it would take 6 months.  I may be finished with the back by the end of this week.  Granny suggested starting a sleeve but I might just start the front.  The pattern is pretty well set in my head.  I am not saying it is memorized but I only need to glance at the chart for reference.  And–the kicker–I am enjoying it. 

Half days start for Gracie tomorrow.  Teenagehood starts Thursday.  It is frightening how quickly she is growing up.  As her social life picks up, her grades seem to be dropping.  Other parents of teens and tweens–what is a reasonable amount of time to spend on the computer IMing?  I certainly set no good example of computer time.  Nor does Kevin with that darn Blackberry.

Parent training at Owen’s today.  Dynavox training tomorrow.  They said he showed a real interest in it at school.  We just need to get it programmed correctly for him.

 

12 Responses to “St. Brigid”

  1. Carole Says:

    I don’t let Hannah IM at all.

  2. kris Says:

    St. Brigid is beautiful. Totally beautiful. I’m gobsmacked.

    Good luck with the dynavox (and the teenagedhood).

  3. Arianne Says:

    Beautiful! I love the heathered lavendar colour. What yarn is it?

  4. Erika Says:

    Gorgeous!! I can’t remember that pattern for the life of me … I have a vague idea of how it goes, but a 22-row repeat with five or so cables in it? Not enough brain cells 😉

    Let me know if you figure any of this teen/tween stuff out. I have my hands full with the 4-year-old!

  5. Nancy Says:

    Ahh Avery and I had just this argument this morning (I busted him on the computer when he was supposed to be getting dressed for school).I only allow an hour a day on weekdays but weekends have become an issue. I’m thinking two hours each day is more then enough. I’m still mulling though.

    St Brigid looks so good. God I might actually want to make it, what have you done to me!!!

  6. margene Says:

    St. Brigid and Hidcote SHOULD have tea;-) I wouldn’t be 13 again for anything. Sigh…may Gracie have a better teenhood than I did…she certainly has a more understanding mother.

  7. Donna Says:

    Arrgghhh! We’re having the same dramas here with social life v school grades and the stupid computer.
    If you find the answer let me know, the constant arguments are wearing me out.

  8. jody Says:

    st brigid is looking great!

    since i can’t give you any advice, i’ll just say good luck with gracie and owen 🙂

  9. Chris Says:

    Thankfully we aren’t finding that to be a lure right now. Hopefully we have time before that happens. I lso am not good at limiting my own time, especially with having just got on Ravelry!

  10. heidi Says:

    It looks lovely. I’m glad to see that you are moving along with St Brigid again. Mine is still waiting for me to pick it up again, but at least I have figured out why my V-neck didn’t work out for me

  11. Mary Beth Says:

    That darn IM’ing! Although I seem to have fond memories of hogging the family phone for hours discussing really critical things like what I was going to wear the next day…

    We don’t IM at all (yet). Maybe you should ask her what she thinks a reasonable amount of time would be? (I love the look of surprise you get when you do that.)

  12. Orli Says:

    hmmm…I guess computer time should be the same as tv time, or choose between the two, …it varied from family to family, 1 – 2 hours I supposed. Iming is like phone calls…
    perhaps let her earn her computer time.


Comments are closed.