Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Just one day to go June 21, 2007

Filed under: Family,Teacher Gifts — katy @ 2:35 pm

Tomorrow is the last hour of school for Cameron and Gracie.  Owen has another week before his vacation starts.  We leave next Thursday for Hilton Head.  It is a looong drive.  Sigh.  Gracie believes she did well on her finals.  Cameron’s meeting was today and he will be remaining at his elementary school with modifications.  I hope this works out.  The independent evaluation was interesting.  Cameron is of average intelligence and average achievement.  He does, however, have a terrible short term memory and this, it seems, is his greatest problem.  Memory, they say, is difficult to build but I am researching and we will do everything we can to help him. 

Trampjune07_020 End of year gifts were a bit tricky this year.  I went with the soap socks and a bar of Blessed Juno soap.  The soap got rave reviews at Christmas and I am scarfed out.  I used Saucy Sport and Patons Grace.  Maybe they weren’t thrilled but it was the best I could do.  I have it in my head to knit the resource room teacher a throw if Cameron graduates from the elementary school.  Someone tell me that is crazy!

Otherwise, I shouldn’t have predicted finishing the back of St. Brigid in that last post.  I haven’t touched it.  Maybe today…

 

13 Responses to “Just one day to go”

  1. margene Says:

    St. Brigid will happen when it’s ready…no rush, it is summer, after all. Soap is a lovely gift! More useful this time of year than a scarf would be;-)

  2. Vicki Says:

    “Maybe they weren’t thrilled…”? Poppycock (I’m quoting Norma)! I think they’re thrilled not to have another coffee mug or something to eat!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I knit socks for my son’s teacher and I got a rather basic “thank you for the gift” note (in my son’s homework book, no less). They were from Socks that Rock, too! Anyway–I saw you were going to Hilton Head (I’m not stalking, I promise) and I was just looking at things to do in that area. I’ll be down there in early August with my 8-yr-old son. Just curious about stuff to do. Thank you!

  4. Norma Says:

    How could they NOT be thrilled? they’re cute as the dickens, and Blessed Juno soap is to die for.

  5. Nancy Says:

    The spec ed teacher in Ian’s class is getting a washcloth and some soap, maybe a soap sock too we’ll see how I’m feeling.

    I did knit the baby kimono for the gen ed teacher mostly because I’ve known her for years certainly not for anything that she’s done for Ian this year.

    They should be thankful they’re not getting coal;)

  6. kris Says:

    I don’t know if this is bunk or not… just heard of it today. Need to read more. Have you heard of digit spacing? Someone on one of the boards I read talked about and said it helped their kid with receptive language, word retrieval, etc. Again….it might be bunk. She said there are expensive programs but she just did it herself with a write on/wipe off board and a marker.

    Haven’t read it yet but here’s a link to the article that the writer linked to.

    http://www.nacd.org/more_information/journal/learninghow.html

    Enjoy Hilton Head. You deserve a break.

  7. eusebius Says:

    Katy, you’re such a great mom. i have so much to learn from you …
    My St Brigid back isn’t finished either, FWIW 😉

  8. Jennifer Says:

    How adorable. What a great idea.

  9. Peeve Says:

    Nonsense – I would be thrilled to get Blessed Juno soap!

  10. Chris Says:

    It doesn’t matter what they think, it is a gift and should be received as such. You are not obligated to make a creation of specialness x 4, 5, 6, or 7. I love the soap covers. i am thinking to do them for Christmas gifts to people you need to gift something, but not much.

  11. blessed juno Says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Katy!

  12. Orli Says:

    “average intelligence and average achievement” I think that is good…that would how I would describe my self. What you say about his memory though makes my think of my younger brother Aviad and his struggles with school work. I wonder if que cards would help…Aviad ended up going to a technical highschool. Aviad might not do great in the academic world but he had good technical skills…he works in a computer shop now. he’s a good sales person and he can also fix the computer.

  13. Rossana Says:

    What cute soap gift bags!

    Have a safe, smooth journey to Hilton Head! Happy vacationing!


Comments are closed.