Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The countdown June 26, 2007

Filed under: Family,Friends,Socks — katy @ 8:38 am

Just a few days before we head off to Hilton Head.  I have done something to my back so Kevin has kindly booked me a flight and is driving the kids down without me.  I have some serious reservations about this as I am the voice of caffeine and stretching.  However, I am not so helpful on pain killers.  I go for an MRI tomorrow but I suppose it will be a bit before we get any answers.  I had backpain similar to this 11 years ago and with exercise I brought it under control–really building up those abs.  I haven’t seriously exercised since we moved back here and my weight is heavier than it ever has been before.  Sigh.  There is some work to be done once we figure things out.  I did try out a chiropractor.  This is something I have never done before.  I am still not sold but I know some people swear by them. 

Nancy’s birthday blogger fest was so much fun.  Ann drove us in style–Onslow, of course!  Miss Maribel–a cookarific caramel–made delicious food.  The company–Risa, Tisha, and Chante was wonderful.  Rinaldo was an absolute doll especially delivering carrot cake.  I brought a Lloyd’s Carrot Cake home for every holiday when I was in college.  YUM!

In other countdown news, I want to  have a birthday party too.  That was so much fun.  I just need to find my own Maribel! 

Trekking126_will_there_be_enough Geesh, nearly forgot my own knitting content.  One sock is finished and I started the other.  I don’t know if I have enough for the second.  The second picot didn’t go as smoothly as the first but it is good enough.  I still have to figure out what to bring down to Hilton Head.  I now have to consider what I can bring on the plane. 

I am sorry for any incoherent content….

 

15 Responses to “The countdown”

  1. sprite Says:

    If the concern is merely the FAA (vs space constraints), then bring whatever you like. I’ve never had anyone even give my yarn or needles a second look on my carry-on luggage, even if the needles had nothing on them at the time.

  2. Carole Says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your back. I hope you can relax and have a good time in spite of it.

  3. margene Says:

    Our backs are in need of constant vigilance. I’m not so good at exercising to keep the abs firm and the back straight…so, I totally understand letting it slide. I’m not sold on chiro’s either (no help in my case). If only we could go to the gym together!
    Have a good vacation and do lots of relaxing and knitting. xoxoxox

  4. Nancy Says:

    I hope you back feels better. Didn’t the carrot cake help?;)

    You just say the word and Maribel and I will come out and cook for your birthday.

    Have a fantastic trip! Tell Kevin to put a hands free set up in the car and you can call and talk to him during parts of the trip where he might doze.

  5. Kris Says:

    Sorry to hear about your back. As I age (ugh!) I get more and more back trouble but thankfully nothing lasting. I sympathize with you, hope you heal up quickly and that you can actually enjoy your vacation.

    The socks are very cute. Love the color combo!

  6. Sara Says:

    ouch – GL with fixing the back pain. That can be really debilitating.

  7. ann Says:

    I had a great time on Saturday – thanks for being such a marvelous co-pilot and giving me exactly what I needed!

  8. Vicki Says:

    Chiro never worked wonders for me, either — in fact, just the opposite. Massage has been a much better choice of treatment for me. I have always struggled with the back/abs problem and it is getting worse. Wish I could go to the gym with you and Margene!!

  9. Collette Says:

    Hang in there sweetie! I hope your back starts feeling better and that the trip turns out to be wonderful.

  10. Peeve Says:

    Argh, back pain is so aggravating! I hope you feel better soon!

  11. Rossana Says:

    Owie! Sorry to hear the back is out of whack. I hope it feels better soon.

    And I love that Trekking colorway! One day, I’ll finish my second sock, too. How do you feel about the picot? I may rip out my picot edging because I’m on the section of the yarn colorway that doesn’t show up too well with the picot.

    Happy vacationing!

  12. jody Says:

    ugh! take care of that back and enjoy the flight down. kevin in the car for umpteen hours with 3 kids? WOW.

  13. Chris Says:

    Enjoy your time away, I would be the one driving and put the Hubster and kid’s on a plane. I don’t do planes! Hope your back is better. My neck and rotator cuff are my problems at the moment. And of course, we are leaving for Florida in 4 days! 14 hour car ride.

  14. Bonnie Says:

    Bad backs are no fun! So I hope those painkillers do thier job. I am sending better back vibes your way.

  15. Orli Says:

    I wake up w/ back aches almost every day. I don’t know if it’s the pg…or since we were rear ended. I think the pg.
    I’m too scared to go to a chiropractor and i’m not sure I want to spend the money either. My pain goes away once I get out of bed and start moving around a little…you know get dressed, have a shower etc.,
    I also wanted to do something special for my 35 this year…just as well I didn’t, since my dad was in hospital…oh well, no biggie


Comments are closed.