Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Even greater than my highest expectations! August 6, 2007

Filed under: Autism,Family,Friends,In Progress,Lace,Starmore — katy @ 9:01 am

The concert was fabulous.  Owen walked in like he owned the place.  He has this swagger and I see it when we do new things–like the first time we went to the movies–he has to lead the way and always looks like he’s been doing it forever.  We spread our blanket out on the ground and he plopped himself down and went digging into the picnic bag for his bagel and a juice box.  There were little autistic moments like everyone should be on the blanket–no limbs or objects hanging off.  And then–when a song came on that he really likes–he was up and dancing.  Cameron and Gracie enjoyed themselves as well.  My niece came too.  She is more familiar with their non-kid music but liked it anyway.  And Owen really liked her.  Cameron and Grace would have preferred seats but for our first concert experience–I think it was absolutely terrific!

Ruffles_and_ridges_and_slants Not much knitting going on.  Ann pointed out I was doing my decreases wrong on the Ruffles & Ridges shawl.  Sigh.  I always slipped knitwise until Ann, Peggy and Ricki were looking at a heel of a sock I knit. They liked the design and informed me most heel slips are purlwise.  So, I think I started slipping everything purlwiWinding_nightmarese.  Sure enough, this baby is supposed to be slipped knitwise.  I am not sure it is worth  ripping back on it.  My mom insists you can manipulate the stitches to look right.  I think I trust her. Aside from that I spent 4 hours winding the Cherry Tree Hill Merino laceweight.  That was a real drag.

On a side note…did anyone else notice that Alice Starmore is wearing St. Brigid in the Vogue Knitting interview photo! 

 

10 Responses to “Even greater than my highest expectations!”

  1. margene Says:

    Your Mom is always right;-) The ‘rule’ I’ve heard from some of the best is to slip the stitch knitwise if you’re going to ‘use’ it, as in a decrease, and purlwise if you’re not.

  2. Kathy Says:

    So glad that the concert went well!

  3. Christy Says:

    The concert story is a great one! I can totally picture Owen walking in like he owns the place! I love it!

  4. Vicki Says:

    YES, YES, YES! I DID notice Alice Starmore wearing St. Brigid!!

    It’s pretty likely that 99% of the stitches I’ve ever slipped have been slipped wrong. If it wasn’t specified, I usually slipped ’em knit-wise, too.

    So happy that the concert was enjoyed by all. ; )

  5. ann Says:

    I like Margene’s rule – it makes good sense!

  6. Chris Says:

    I haven’t seen the issue yet. Must run by Borders on the way to the girl’s birthday bash tonight. Think I can keep it dry by the pool?

    Thanks for the boost! I think we all face our own issues, no matter what size. But I wish we could all be at peace all the time.

  7. Lorette Says:

    Glad the concert went well!
    If your decreases look good, who cares which way they were slipped. Just call it your own modification of the design! I do like Margene’s rule, though, it makes sense.

  8. Nancy Says:

    I go by the rule Margene quotes also but I gotta tell you I sure don’t pay it that much attention when it comes right down to it.

  9. Kate Says:

    Oh, sounds like a good time at the concert… maybe this will bode well for a good school year. 🙂 My new boss has an autistic son and when he comes by the office (they live just behind the building, when he walks the dogs, he comes by), he is trying something new: making eye contact! It’s so great to see him doing it more regularly!!

    Like they say, every little thing counts.

  10. Orli Says:

    Very kewl about the concert.


Comments are closed.