Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Another lb lighter November 29, 2007

Filed under: Blankets — katy @ 6:47 pm

Soar_thanksgiving_pagaent_016 Not the greatest of pictures but I tried.  Today I had my hair cut again for Locks of Love.  They got 11 inches off of one side and 12 off the other (I did some hair management this summer on my own).  I have been anxious to go short again–especially with the weight loss.  I don’t know.  I may have been trying to hide behind my hair…but not anymore!  I don’t think it was really a pound of hair though but who cares?  It feels good physically and emotionally.

I added some small knit stuff to my Ravelry page but it was mostly throw avoidance.  Kevin Soar_thanksgiving_pagaent_017 declared the Peruvia/Manos knock off throw too small.  I wasn’t sure what to do but a little gmail chat with my friend Marilyn and I have decided to add two more strips.  One would have made it a square and I wanted to keep it a rectangle.  Six will keep it a rectangle.  But I was emotionally ready to move on after three.  I have to finish this before Christmas because I would never ship it.  Knit more and gym less?  I don’t think so!

Poor Cameron is having 5 teeth pulled tomorrow.  This is his second round with the oral surgeon.  His mouth is just too small.  Kevin and I have a wedding this weekend–in CT–overnight.  Woohoo!

edited to add…I just googled Locks to get the link and some people saying they aren’t exactly what they claim.  Must research this more!  The salon mentioned another organization…has anyone heard anything like that?  I am going to look into Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths.

 

33 Responses to “Another lb lighter”

  1. margene Says:

    I can see the weight loss in your face! Love the shorter hair…you look maaahvelous.

  2. Donna Says:

    It looks great!!

  3. Cara Says:

    You look about ten! Your hair looks great!!!

  4. ann Says:

    woo-hoo you’re a hottie!

  5. Collette Says:

    And you’re going to look so beautiful for the wedding!

  6. Norma Says:

    Wow, I Googled about Locks since you mentioned it, and who knows what to believe, BUT it is like deja vu for me about what I learned in depositions regarding the Red Cross. I was so devastated about what I learned about their blood collection and selling processes, and the OUTRAGEOUS “bonuses” the local whatever-her-title is (regional manager or something?) makes each year — she has only a high school education and makes many hundreds of thousands of dollars a year in “bonuses” from the sale of blood. When they say “BLOOD DESPERATELY NEEDED – DONATE TODAY!” it’s all a scam — it means “she wants a bigger bonus this quarter.” They SELL the blood to the hospitals. I was so shocked. It was like the day I learned there was no such thing as Santa or something. The reason the lawsuit came up is because they (the Red Cross) were trying to shut down a for-profit competitor who started a business. The hospitals actually preferred to get their blood from him because he tested it for more diseases and he always had the blood they needed available, and he didn’t have the nasty attitude this lady had. (She’d never had any competition before, so she was nasty to the hospital when they’d say they didn’t get what they needed or ordered or whatever, or had a concern about the price.)

    Sorry to take over your comments, but this has bothered me for years, ever since I learned it, and reading those things about Locks — well, it’s just too easy for me to believe it, sadly.

  7. Norma Says:

    What happened to that comment? It’s not here. Damnit. Anyway, I forgot to mention how GREAT you look!! Love the new look.

  8. Kristyn Says:

    The hair is great! I toy with the idea of going short again every morning but I am not sure I ever will go through with it.

  9. Carole Says:

    Your hair cut looks great!

  10. Christy Says:

    You look fab! Adorable hair cut, too. Must look into Locks of Love scandal. I donated my long ponytail about 1.5 years ago.

  11. Kris Says:

    You look MAAAAHvelous! I love the haircut.

    And thanks for the heads up on Locks of Love. I have a couple of friends that have donated. I don’t think they have seen some of these reports. I was surprised to learn that they charge for the wigs and that they don’t usually accept chemo patients. When I worked for a pediatric oncologists… they represented themselves to us as a “charity” that provided “free” wigs for kids who suffered hair loss due to chemo. Now I see that their representatives weren’t exactly telling the truth. Hmmmmm!

    Hugs to Cam. Poor guy!

  12. Chris Says:

    Elder is getting 3 teeth cut out in two weeks. She is not a happy camper. But when they can’t grow in because of limited space, what do you do?
    Love the do!!! Love it!!!
    Yes, you need more squares, sorry.
    Hope Cam comes through with little stress! And you too.

  13. Carol Says:

    I love Scooby checking out your handiwork. Hair style looks great. Disturbing news about the donations…

  14. Carol Says:

    I love Scooby checking out your handiwork. Hair style looks great. Disturbing news about the donations…

  15. Vicki Says:

    I was gonna say twelve… hehehe.

    You look MAHVELOUS, darling!!

  16. Vicki Says:

    I mean… DAHLING!

  17. Vicki Says:

    I mean… DAHLING!

  18. Nancy Says:

    You look so hot! Really like I’d leave Rinaldo for you in a second, but don’t tell Ann ok;)

    I donated to Locks so I’m sorry to hear these things.

    Give my best to Cam I feel for him I had three teeth out recently too (wisdom teeth, ouch!).

  19. Kris Says:

    My first donation was to Locks of Love, and then I heard many of the same things you’ve just discovered. My second donation went to Angel Hair for kids:

    http://www.aha-studio.com/angel.htm

    At the time of my donation (2 years ago?), at least, they had a much better reputation. Haven’t looked around lately, though.

  20. Kris Says:

    My first donation was to Locks of Love, and then I heard many of the same things you’ve just discovered. My second donation went to Angel Hair for kids:

    http://www.aha-studio.com/angel.htm

    At the time of my donation (2 years ago?), at least, they had a much better reputation. Haven’t looked around lately, though.

  21. Kris Says:

    Edit to my comment – I mean that Angel Hair had a much better reputation than Locks of Love 2 years ago, but that I haven’t researched lately.

  22. what a babe! you DO look so young–love the haircut.

    My godson donated his tresses to LofL–I’m sorry to hear there’s some scandal. People these days. Grrr.

  23. what a babe! you DO look so young–love the haircut.

    My godson donated his tresses to LofL–I’m sorry to hear there’s some scandal. People these days. Grrr.

  24. Angi Says:

    Congratulations on all accounts! You look beautiful in both of the pictures on your homepage. Hugs to Owen.

  25. Jan Says:

    Fabulous new look!!

  26. Jan Says:

    Fabulous new look!!

  27. Michele Says:

    My co workers have been donating their hair to the Pantene group.

    You look fantastic – at least 10 years younger!

  28. Lorette Says:

    You do look Maaaa…..velous!
    If that’s true about LoL and the Red Cross, it’s pretty sick.

  29. Lorette Says:

    You do look Maaaa…..velous!
    If that’s true about LoL and the Red Cross, it’s pretty sick.

  30. Bonnie Says:

    Congrats on the weight loss. I understand about the hair. As I was losing weight this year my hair seemed to get bigger. So when I finally went short, I finally felt like I had lost weight. So flaunt it baby!

    You look fantastic!

  31. kathy b Says:

    I got a lovely postcard from Locks of Love thanking me, so I believe. I think they are okay. You do look great. Did you use too much shampoo the first wash after?

  32. Orli Says:

    5 teeth…Ouch! funny my mouth was and is too small…but no permenent teeth were pulled…just one milk tooth that wouldn’t fall out.
    I guess that’s why the braces didn’t do such a great job…once the came off it’s been a gradual process of all my teeth moving back again. My bottom row is cruckid [sp?] and my top front teeth stick forward [sigh]
    hugs to Cameron!!!

  33. Eklectika Says:

    Ok – I’m late to the discussion, but I’ve heard this debate so many times online.

    The biggest problem, and source of most of the online controversy over Locks of Love, is some people’s incorrect perception of who Locks of Love is supposed to serve. I think that the public automatically assumes the wigs are for cancer patients because that’s the first thing we think of when we see kids with no hair.

    L.O.L. do not claim to be a cancer charity. They say right on their website:
    “Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children under age 18 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. We meet a unique need for children by using donated hair to create the highest quality hair prosthetics. Most of the children helped by Locks of Love have lost their hair due to a medical condition called alopecia areata, which has no known cause or cure.” (locksoflove.org).

    They do explain (if you ask) that the reason they tend not to approve cancer patients is because it is not a long term hair loss. It’s horrible to think about, but either the child gets better and grows his/her hair back or he/she passes away. They are concentrating on kids who have permanent or long term hair loss, that’s all.

    So, all I can say, is if you intend to help kids with cancer, L.O.L. is probably not the charity to go with, but that doesn’t make them evil because they are focused on helping another group of people.


Comments are closed.