Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s all good December 18, 2007

Filed under: All done!,Autism,Blankets,Teacher Gifts — katy @ 3:34 pm

Kevins_wedding_and_stuff_075 Victory dances all around!  The Four Season Afghan is finished!  I sewed the last end in over the weekend and had a very unsuccessful photo shoot with Kevin.  Final details:  Berroco Peruvia 14 skeins altogether (3 of 2 colors and 4 of the other 2) and a US 9.  Admittedly, I was finished with this project at the specified 3 strips but the overall opinion was it was too small for two men.  I added another 2 stripsKevins_wedding_and_stuff_078 and it is perfect.  I  continuously screwed up on the last strip as I was DONE but I kept plugging along and it was a happy day when I cast off.  Cameron loves it and asked for one of his own.  Sigh.  I can’t do it.

Teacher knitting was finished today too for Cameron.  A couple of super chunky hats, a pair of Fetching, a Scaruffle and a funky Tahki scarf.  Oh–a Pidge knockoff Kevins_wedding_and_stuff_088 too.  I completely forgot about the speech teacher.  And see, I forgot her again.  I just need to sew on the buttons and run the ends. 

Owen’s teachers aren’t getting handknits this year.  I just couldn’t do it and finish the afghan too.  And we just had the most wonderful news for Owen!  The district bought him a brand new augmentative communication device.   I am not exactly sure what model…I pick it up on Thursday.  In my excitement, I didn’t really pay attention to what I was told by his coordinator.   I was just thinking of all the amazing things I hope to hear Owen say!

 

15 Responses to “It’s all good”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Hahaha, you look very happy — one might even say “giddy” — that the blanket is done! It looks great, Katy! Yay for You!!

  2. margene Says:

    Hurray! How wonderful for you. You look fabulous, too. Hurray double for Owen.

  3. Vicki Says:

    The afghan is beautiful! And done, that always helps. Congrats on getting the new device. I don’t know a whole lot about it, but I’d guess you’re pretty lucky to have the district get it for him.

  4. Kris Says:

    Look at skinny you!

    The afghan is beautiful. You did a great job.

    Great news on the AC device. Hip, hip, hooray!

  5. Norma Says:

    Oooooh, that blanket is a beautiful accomplishment. Man. I’d like to think I could possibly do a blanket, but….wow. I really don’t think I’d ever finish it.

    It’s very hard to get decent photos with the hubsters, innit? I do love that 2nd one, though. Mwah!

  6. Norma Says:

    Oooooh, that blanket is a beautiful accomplishment. Man. I’d like to think I could possibly do a blanket, but….wow. I really don’t think I’d ever finish it.

    It’s very hard to get decent photos with the hubsters, innit? I do love that 2nd one, though. Mwah!

  7. Emma. Says:

    Fantastic news aboyt a new communication aid for Owen. Really wonderful.
    It may not happen immediately, but I hope it really opens up the world for him.

    Fab knitting all round. Lucky teachers ! The afghan is spectacular too. You look so happy. :0)

  8. ann Says:

    smooth moves baby! and yay for Owen — looking forward to hearing all about it on Thursday!

  9. Christy Says:

    Great news about Owen’s box of words. Do you read Rob Rummel-Hudson’s blog about his daughter Schuyler? She got her “big box of words” a few years ago and it has made all the difference.

    http://www.schuylersmonsterblog.com/

    Hooray!

  10. Nancy Says:

    Wow Santa came a little early with all that good stuff going on. I’m thrilled the blanket is done and the teacher gifts and beyond thrilled that Owen is getting a new device. That’s fantastic!

    Lovin’ you in the Santa hat too;)

  11. Jennifer Says:

    Wow – amazing knits! Love the Santa Katy picture. Hope you had a very Merry Christmas. I’m very happy for your news for Owen. *Hugs of Joy*

  12. Jennifer Says:

    Wow – amazing knits! Love the Santa Katy picture. Hope you had a very Merry Christmas. I’m very happy for your news for Owen. *Hugs of Joy*

  13. Orli Says:

    Kewl and you look so cute in all those photos. I love that scarf you are sporting.

    how does an augmentative communication device work?

    I’ve been very lame w/ my knitting, just can’t seem to get in the mood to knit. I’m 1 bunny ear away from finishing a bunny from the last minute gift book, BUT, I’m not happy w/ the head it seems to be twisted, I have no clue how I managed that and have to desire to frog.

  14. Maribel Says:

    You look so cute in the Santa hat! The blanket is nice and it looks so comfy.

  15. Maribel Says:

    You look so cute in the Santa hat! The blanket is nice and it looks so comfy.


Comments are closed.